Islam: The 6 Pillars of Faith (Iman)

Islam: The 6 Pillars of Faith (Iman)

What are the six pillars of faith in Islam?

In Islam there are 6 basic principles (also known as the six articles of faith) that all Muslims should not only believe in but also study and understand.

There are a number of Hadith and Qur’anic verses which support this, including the following:

The Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W) said:

“Belief is to believe in Allah, His Angels, His Books, His Apostles, and the meeting with Him, and to believe in the Resurrection.””.Sahih Bukhari

The 6 pillars of faith in sunni islam

 1) Belief in the Oneness of Allah 

We as Muslims believe that Allah (SWT) is all powerful & there is nothing like Him. He is the creater and provider all things, lord of the worlds, the most merciful & the ruler of the day of judegement.

Words alone don’t do justice to Allah (SWT) omnipotence. He has no equals, He is all knowing, the beneficent & the God of all mankind.

 2) Belief in the Angels of Allah 

Angels are pure and spiritual beings created from light. They were created long before man was created. We as Muslims believe in the existence of angels and that they are honoured beings.

The angels worship Allah (SWT) alone, obey him and act only by his command.

The names of some important angels include:

  • Jibra’il – The angel of revelation.
  • Mikha’il – The angel of mercy.
  • Malak Al Mawt – The angle of death.
  • Israf’il – The angel responsible for announcing the day of resurrection.
  • Munkar & Nakir – The angels who test the faith of the dead in their graves.
  • Kiraman Katibeen – The angels known as the ‘honourable recorders‘ who record the good and bad deeds of a person.

 3) Belief in the Books of Allah 

We as Muslims should believe in the books (holy scriptures) sent by Allah (SWT) to his prophets. These books were revealed as a form of guidance and proof.

The holy scriptures and who they were sent with are:

  • The Suhof (Scrolls) to Ibrahim (AS).
  • The Zaboor (Psalms) sent with the Prophet Dawud (AS).
  • The Torah (Torah) sent with the Prophet Musa (AS).
  • The Injeel (Gospel) sent with Prophet Isa (AS).
  • The Quran sent with Prophet Muhammad (SAW)

 4) Belief in the Prophets of Allah 

We as Muslims believe that there were prophets sent by Allah (SWT).  These prophets were chosen during their own times and appointed by Allah (SWT) to teach mankind.

We believe all the prophets reminded people of Allah (SWT) and told them to worship him. Many of the prophets also performed miracles.

The names of some prophets include:

  • Adam (AS)
  • Musa (AS)
  • Isa (AS)
  • Muhammad (SAW)

 5) Belief in the Day of Judgement 

Al Qiyamah means the day of judgement. We as Muslims believe this world is temporary and that our final destination is the hereafter.

On the day of judgement Allah (SWT) will bring all of mankind back to life and we will be judged on the good and bad things we did during our time on this world.

Those whose good deeds outweigh their bad deeds will enter Jannah (paradise). Those whose bad deeds outweigh their good deeds will enter Jahanam (hell fire).

 6) Belief in the Qadar (Divine Decree) 

Qadar (divine decree) also known as predestination is the final article of faith.

We as Muslims believe in Al-Qadr – a divine decree set by Allah (SWT).

Allah (SWT) alone holds supreme over the laws that are operating in the universe and has power and knowledge of all that occurs. Everything that happens is due to the decree of Allah (SWT).

That said, we are given free will and have the ability to distinguish between right and wrong.

Friendly Notice:
We are more than happy for anyone to use or share our custom graphics but please provide a link back to us.

Jazak’Allah Khair’un.

Are you interested in learning more about Islam?

12 Months of the Islamic Lunar Calendar

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll Up